Main Content
BOOK NOW

Review or change an existing reservation:
Sign in to view all reservations in your account
Or review or change a specific reservation:
 
 
 

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating:

3.0 of 5 stars
3.0 of 5 stars Based on 290 traveler reviews
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Saint Joseph

Traveler rating

  • Excellent
    46
  • Very Good
    70
  • Average
    61
  • Poor
    58
  • Terrible
    55

Type of Traveler

  • traveler_type_families
    Family
    90
  • traveler_type_couples
    Couples
    59
  • traveler_type_solo
    Solo travel
    17
  • traveler_type_business
    Business
    81

Rating summary

  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.0 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.0 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.0 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.
TripAdvisor Photos
Front of Hotel/Street view Hotel Exterior 2 queen Room 1 King with sofa sleeper 1 Queen Accessible

Most Recent Traveler Reviews:

  • Janet V
    Cannon Beach, Oregon
    “Great staff Great beds Great stay review by Janet V from Cannon Beach, Oregon
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Reviewed 
    April 05, 2017
    Trip type: 
    Family
    The hotel had easy access on and off the freeway. Kayce on the front desk was amazing, she was very friendly and very helpful. We had a great night sleep, we even asked if we could purchase the pillows!! In the morning we purchased the the new Grab and Go breakfast sandwiches for the road!
    Stayed 
    March 2017
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Rooms
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Value
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Sleep Quality
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Location
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Cleanliness
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    , General Manager at Radisson St. Joseph, responded to this review,
    April 06, 2017
    Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kayce is a valuable member of our management staff and I will make sure she knows your appreciation. We look forward to your next stay.
  • ladonnad838
    St. Joseph, United States
    “Meeting Room Great/Room okay review by ladonnad838 from St. Joseph, United States
    3.0  of 5 stars
    Reviewed 
    February 20, 2017
    Trip type: 
    Business
    I sponsored a quilt retreat at this hotel. The staff was great and took care of all our needs. One of my group needed a different chair and they took care of it immediately. We eat several meals in Fry's Corner and the food was good. Our room was okay; just needed a little work in the bathroom. Not mold or anything like that; just cosmetic stuff.
    Stayed 
    February 2017
    3.0  of 5 stars
    Rooms
    3.0  of 5 stars
    Value
    4.0  of 5 stars
    Sleep Quality
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Location
    4.0  of 5 stars
    Cleanliness
    4.0  of 5 stars
    Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
  • Patricia U
    Half Way
    “HOTEL IS EXTREMELY OUTDATED AND OLD review by Patricia U from Half Way
    1.0  of 5 stars
    Reviewed 
    February 06, 2017
    Trip type: 
    Business
    I come to St Joseph, Missouri once a year for dog show. Unfortunately, this is the only hotel near the Civic Arena. The hotel is in major need of a remodel. My electrical outlet was pulled from wall, T V no work, and toilet had not been flushed from prior occupant. However, staff very accommodating. They were very apologetic...not their fault.
    Stayed 
    February 2017
    1.0  of 5 stars
    Rooms
    1.0  of 5 stars
    Value
    2.0  of 5 stars
    Sleep Quality
    5.0  of 5 stars
    Location
    2.0  of 5 stars
    Cleanliness
    3.0  of 5 stars
    Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    CarlsonRezidor, Customer Care at Radisson St. Joseph, responded to this review,
    February 09, 2017
    Hi Patricia. Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. It is good to know that you were delighted with the service you received from our staff. We apologize that you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room during your stay. Your feedback will be forwarded to the hotel management to to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson hotels standards. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.
These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.